I’m In the Minority But I Am Not A “Minority”

Language and labels matter more than ever — here’s why I’m rejecting this one

Cara Harbstreet (She/Her)
6 min readJun 1, 2020

Woman. Asian American. Millennial.

These are just a few of my identities. They intertwine with all the others, weaving the fabric of the flesh I live in and the skin I present to the world.

Skin that is white.

As a result, I’ve benefited and will continue to benefit from the privileges of a white-passing woman in America. The color of my skin has not slammed doors in my face or threatened my life. It has never barred entry to white spaces. Because I can tick the box for “Asian, Asian American, or Pacific Islander” on applications, some might even argue the whiteness of my skin has brought me preferential (albeit tokenized) treatment.

But it is exactly because of the whiteness of my mixed race, Korean-American skin that you might listen and hear what needs to be said. We live in a society that deems whiteness to be all things virtuous, aspirational, and superior. But given that the voices of Black, indigenous, people of color are muted and discounted unless amplified through a megaphone held by white hands, I beg to differ.

This inequality is not about numbers. It’s about power and dominance.

--

--

Cara Harbstreet (She/Her)

Lover of carbs and puns, call me Cara Carbstreet | Anxious Millennial | Coffee Enthusiast | Non-diet Dietitian